My Response To “Fall of a City”

“Fall of a City” was slightly different from the other stories we read. It was the least tragic and disturbing one by far, and it didn’t contain the death of something tangible like a human being. It contained the death of a dream, which I’d like to describe as heartbreaking instead of disturbing. I can relate to this story. Some of the sweetest dreams are not meant to be shared, because humans are selfish creatures. Whenever they are given someone else’s hopes and dreams, the first thing they do is criticising. This forces the ‘stargazers’ to come back to Earth and live the painful life of the stoic people down there. The ones who refuse to give up on their dreams are mocked and isolated.

The death of a childhood dream is a concept I’m familiar with. I also lost some dreams but always gained others, and I can only pity the ones who think they’re superior and wise because they’re too weak to dream.

Posted in Vocabulary

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Blog Posts

Recent Comments

Skip to toolbar